The current criteria for migration to the free market were established in 1998, by the Law No. 9.648 / 1998 that created two groups of consumers able to choose their supplier of electricity.

The first group consists of the consumer units with load greater than or equal to 3,000 kW met in voltage greater than or equal to 69 kV – in general the consumer units of the sub-group A3, A2 and A1. They are also free to choose their supplier new consumer units installed after 07.07.1995 with demand greater than or equal to 3,000 kW and serviced at any voltage.

These consumers can purchase power from any power generation or trading agent. The second group, comprised of the consumer units with demand greater than 500 kW served in any tension, can also choose their supplier, but their range of choice is restricted to energy from the so called incentivized power supplies, namely: Small Hydropower Plants – PCH´s, Biomass Power Plants, Wind Power Plants and Qualified Cogeneration Systems.

Abraceel - Brazilian Energy Traders Association - Development ZONAElétrica